Pellet stove fills room with smoke

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

RM Donaghy

Oct 13, 2024
Musidora Alberta Canada
Hello and thank you for accepting me to the forum. I'm new to the pellet stove thing so forgive my lack of knowledge. When I turn on my Drolet 45 stove, it does the usual stuff. The auger feeds pellets into the burn pot, after a predetermined amount, the igniter fires up. Then the pellets start smoking and the smoke comes out from under the burn chamber and fills the room with smoke until there is fire in the burn pot. What could be causing this? The stove was used when I bought it I don't know it's age. Everything else in new, pellets, exhaust pipe. There is currently no fresh air intake piping installed.
I bought a kit but haven't gotten it installed. Any advice is appreciated.

Unless something has come apart or broken inside the stove
your smoke on start-up is from the chimney connections
seal with hi-temp silicon, silicon tape or the metal tape used by HVAC techs
The smoke can be seen in the dark using a flashlight

Reactions: Washed-Up and ARC
the smoke comes out from under the burn chamber and fills the room with smoke until there is fire in the burn pot.
Describe or picture of your venting, when was the last time it was cleaned. Ash, bird nest or wasp nest blocking venting? Were does the smoke come out of when filling room, ash drawer, around door, venting or some place else?