Pacific Energy True North burn tips, what's your setup.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

turbojoe

Oct 24, 2014
Mid Michigan
I have been unable to find alot of user feedback on all the good stuff us TN19 owners need to share. As in, Burn times, Air settings, Heat output, ect.

I am new to EPA wood stoves. Now that the stove is installed, it's burn time. what works and doesn't work for you.

I have only had a few small fires to cure the paint until today. I ran the stove about an hour with smaller pieces of Ash until i had decent coals. I decided to put in three 7" Ash splits and try her out.
The stove top was at 350f, I dropped the 3 splits in, closed the door and also closed the air all the way to see if i could get a slow ( 350ish ) long burn.
Well it burned great but burned hotter than i ecspected with the air closed down all the way. Over 2 to 3 hours the stove top rose to 600f before starting to head back down.
Should i be able to choke it off more to control temps ??
It seems like the more wood i add the hotter it gets, i know, sounds stupid...lol.. I figured from lurking on here one could pack a stove full, turn down the air and let it slow cook.
I'm afraid if i loaded this one up it may over fire ??