Old Victorian House - Fireplace retro-fit (Look at these photos!)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

DrewSpring

Dec 17, 2018
Boston, Massachusetts
Hi all.

Ok, I'm brand new to all of this so excuse my ignorance. I bought an 1840 Victorian Row house in Boston. It has one long chimney that goes from the bottom floor (basement) to the top of the home -- 4 full stories. The house has two 'fireplaces' -- they are actually marble mantles and the fireplace opening has been bricked over and plastered.

I decided to take a sledge hammer to the plaster and removed the bricks to see what I was working with.

I'd like to make the fireplace in the living room operable but have no clue what my options are. The chimney is in the way of putting an insert in there and having it sit flush. What would you do??

I'd prefer a wood stove, or perhaps gas insert BUT I'd like it to sit flush with the mantle. The living room width is only 10 feet across -- so a stove would look funny because it would be in the middle of the room.

Do I have any options?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Old Victorian House - Fireplace retro-fit  (Look at these photos!)
    IMG_2677.JPG
    67 KB · Views: 327
    IMG_2680.JPG
    59.9 KB · Views: 350
    IMG_0008.jpg
    123.3 KB · Views: 197
Last edited:
Uh oh, They built a chimney inside of a chimney. For a coal stove probably in its day. That is a problem. If your looking to have it restored to original and functional to code I think your talking big$$$$. The inner chimney I'm sure is not lined, just two bricks thick. Either leave it closed or go for it whole hog I guess. Kevin

Hi all.