Odor from chimney/pipe

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MMH

Minister of Fire
Jan 21, 2019
NV
Hello all still newbie here need you’re help/advice. Got stove installed about a month ago (Bk ashford) currently in shoulder season so burning at night and in mornings mostly. Had inspection done which reports I need brackets/stabilizers for chimney exit, company that installed stove completed this. So that night (after bracket install) I load stove but had a difficult time starting my fire. During the start a few pieces of my wood smoked pretty heavily for probabaly a good 15-20 minutes. After this period fire finally got going and after getting established (another 10 minutes or so) I noticed there was an immediate odor. Smelt like hot metal/chemical like smell.

My pipe temperatures up to my ceiling were running anywhere from 600-900. I’m measuring with a IR/temp gun, so those temps are with the ~ + 50% (double walled pipe). My pipe never got red/glowing, I checked outside and nothing red/glowing, nothing coming out of chimney. Lots of noises coming from pipe, sounded like something dropping from pipe to bottom. This proceeded for about 15 minutes or so and then it stopped. No more noise, no more smell, temps right back to where I’m used to seeing them so far. Granted only been a month but never had anything like this. I have some theories.