Newbie question on installing a pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dan_b

Jan 5, 2007
I have done a fair amount of research on pellet stoves and their installation. I'm a newbie because I haven't actually installed it yet. I have a permit to do an owner install and it will be inspected by the city. I have a few vocabulary questions for the folks here as well as a couple of questions before I get going. First off, about what I have and am planning on doing. I bought a used Whitfield Advantage insert (with the analog dial type circuit board controls). I believe it was made the last year before Pyro sold to Lennox. I have a one story house with a chimney that was cleaned and inspected one year ago. Since the cleaning, several fires were made over the last year but not much action was seen by the fireplace overall. I am planning on putting in 3" type L pellet stove pipe all the way to the top of the chimney (about 14 feet). I am going to do a 5 foot type L flex piece to get through the flu, and then do type L rigid pipe to the top of the chimney.
Question 1. Is "putting in a new liner" the exact same thing as running pipe all the way to the top? Are these equivalent phrases?