newbie needs advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

monstertruck287

Nov 19, 2011
bellefonte pa
Hello all! first post here. I am new to all this boiler stuff and want to build a system for mobile home. right now i am heating with an old ashley circulator, but want to use my existing oil furnace blower and a hx hooked to an older model boiler i got for free. I am building a small addition on the side of my trailor to put the boiler in. My oil furnace is rated for 60,000 btu so im assuming thats what i need the hx to be also? i dont know anything about the boiler, I can't find no info anywhere on it. All i know is it was a coal boiler and somebody converted it to oil, now i want to convert it wood. My home is a 1972 12x60 with a 7X30 slide out addition. so what i need help with is, hx size, pump size, and maybe a diagram of a similar setup? Any advice at all would be great. I also plan to use a 40 gal electric water heater as storage. I got the boiler thinking it would be an easy install, but after a few days of trying to research what i need i just got more confused!!! I'll post a couple pics of the boiler tomorrow .Someone please point me in the right direction.

OK... Anyone who's posting at 3 in the morning deserves SOME input. As I understand it you have a boiler of unknown output BUT apparently a furnace with a 60K output keeps the place warm. Here's what I'd do:

1) Forget messing with storage right off the bat. Will dramtically simplify getting heat now.