Newbie Here!! New to me quadra fire insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

Freefall_Doug

Hearth Supporter
My new to me house came with a pretty nice quadra fire insert. It is an older model with manual controls, and a blower that plugs in with an external power cord. But it looks like a really nice unit.

We used it a bit last year but not as much as I wanted, first the seasoned wood we purchased wasn't seasoned so I worried about burning with it, and second I really wanted to get a good look down the chimney and take a look at things.

The greener wood was harder starting, and it seem like the chimney didn't have a great draft until the fire was really roaring. The door to the insert had to be partially open to get a fire going, and when I shut the door before I had strong fire it would go or smolder. It doesn't seem like the insert is breathing right.

When I open the firebox, even with a pretty decent fire I get smoke spilling out.

Yesterday I got on the roof and took a look a did a little brushing.

The chimney had a terracotta liner. The insert has a stainless steel flexible pipe that goes a bit into the chimney. It fits the internet descriptions of a direct connect installation. There was a moderate amount of creosote.