Newbie clueless about a "Secondary burn"

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

Soadrocks

Hearth Supporter
Nov 1, 2009
Rochester, NY
I'm a newbie to Wood stove burning. I have the Jotul F400. I love it! I've been reading up on this website for a couple nights now, trying to learn as quick as possible on how to maximize the stove. I have been reading a lot about secondary burning. What is "Secondary burning?" How do you achieve this? I'm not quite understanding this concept? Is this when the wood is glowing without flames?

Please explain.

Thanks!

Secondary burn is when the unburnt gases from the wood are burned with air supplied via holes in the secondary manifold. These are at the top of your stove. It's a nice light show. Depending on what the air control is set to, it can be a wraithlike slow dance of blue/purple flame or with more air and wood it can be a fountain of fire. Here's a link to a video of the Castine's secondary burning:

https://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/6247/

Soadrocks said:
How do you achieve this?
get stove hot. add dry wood. get dry wood burning hot. turn down air.
wood must be DRY.
stove must be HOT.

Man, I like this site!

Both responses to your question are spot-on.