New to OWB and Need Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Lelila

Jan 8, 2019
Upstate NY
Hi - I am new to OWBs and have a boat load of questions. We ran an indoor boiler for several years with great success. We recently moved to a 2400 sqft 200 year old brick house with no chimney access in the basement. So no indoor boiler. We installed a Heatmor 200x 80 ft from the house. We are heating with baseboard hot water (all new hot water pex) using the oil boiler tank as our storage. Oil boiler is our backup. The Heatmor is set to 185/170. We fired up this past Sunday at 6PM. Lowest outside temps haven't gotten below 20 degrees. Yet we can't get the house above 66. Even though the oil boiler fired often, we were at a comfortable 69 all the time on oil heat. What are we doing wrong with our OWB?

What questions should we be asking? Water temp, house size, depth of pipes, amount of pex, diameter of pex, etc?

Temps are supposed to be below zero this weekend. I'm afraid we'll be shutting down the Heatmor and firing the oil boiler. I have small kids and I don't want them getting sick because the OWB can't keep up and the house is too cold.

You had it installed? Or installed yourselves?

If you had it installed, get the installer back out. Troubleshooting over the internet can be a tedious process. There are lots of possible reasons why this could be happening. Could be as simple as an airlock, or as un-simple as a bad system design.