New stove drafted great. . .All of a sudden does NOT

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

rtv900

Nov 30, 2015
pennsylvania
So I have an issue with a new stove, Quadrafire Explorer III. I am new to this stove but have been burning wood for about 10 years. The stove was working perfectly, but now the drafting is weird.
Basically, if I open the door any more than a half inch it just drafts into the room non stop. I am used to a little smoke spillage if it is opened quickly or something, but that is not the case here. I can only barely crack it, and the latch even needs to be partially engaged to keep it more closed than if you just rest the door against the cam lock thing. Until a few days ago I could open the door 180 degrees out if I wanted to and it still would not spill smoke other than maybe a few seconds at first.
I'd guess since it's been installed I've burned maybe 1/3rd of a cord.
One odd thing last night I also noticed which I've never seen is when I was starting it smoke was leaking out around the pipe seams. This went away once the fire got going but still.
The fire burns ok once it's established and the door is closed, but no matter what now if I open the door it drafts into the room completely.
I went out last night and opened up the bottom cap thing on the insulated pipe to see if there was buildup or something, and there was a little on the sides but nothing alarming, I could see the smoke making the 90 degree turn up and it comes out the top and looks normal to me.