New here... Proper way to operate stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Nater

Jan 3, 2011
Southern Maine
This is my first post but have got so much information so far by just reading. I am somewhat new to burning wood, although I did have a wood stove growing up.

Some background info - I have an old wood stove that came with the house when we bought it. The previous owners lived there 10 years and rarely used it, and it was there when they bought the house. So the stove is at least 12 years old, probably twice that or more. This is the second winter we have lived there, and the first winter we heated with only oil. We kept our thermostats at 60 and were going through about 200 gallons a month (OUCH!). Last fall we got a new 6" insulated SS liner installed. We have been burning wood since September and our house has been a constant 70+ and just bought oil since last summer (we use it for hot water). So we have pretty much covered the cost of the liner already.