New catalytic Blaze king, ?s

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bogydave

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Dec 4, 2009
So Cent ALASKA
Hi all

I'm new to catalytic wood stove operations.

Model KE 1107, blowers, internal combustion air, glass door, in basement,
Flu:single wall pipe to 90 "L" to 8" metal-bestos thru-wall "T" & metal-bestos pipe up to 2 feet above roof line with cap.
2 & 3 year old wood (white birch) good & dry. (some spruce)
Brushed chimney before starting the stove.
1st 12 hours I ran it on High, smoked everything off external of stove & pipe. Vented the house (no choice) :)
2 weeks old & has been burning full time.

1. I have yet to learn how to add wood without smoking a little into the house.
I bypass the catalytic, turn to high, crack the door to get the flu hot & drafting good for a minute or so, but still get some smoke when I add wood.
Any suggestions?

2. Old stove was 1982 Blaze King with blower, so burning a wood stove is not new but the catalytic is. (typically 9 - 10 cords per year (was younger then) until we got gas then 3 - 4 as supplement heat).
Now that I upgraded, to a more efficient stove with a catalytic, I'm learning more about cured wood, no trash, colored newspaper, glossy paper etc.
The catalytic glows red when on high & when I add wood, after a few hours on medium I don't see the red glow. There is a temp probe on the stove to show "active" temp range
& when to close the bypass door.