Need some advice on some wood stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wallace

Oct 8, 2011
Prescott, AZ
I am BRAND new to wood stoves and am going to be buying one in the next two weeks. Propane is ridiculous and hardly affordable anymore! I have a 2400sq ft home all one level. We live in Prescott Az so we get a somewhat chilly winter season. I have pretty much narrowed my stoves to the 1. Jutol Rangeley, 2. Jutol Oslo 3. Harman Oakwood. Really like the idea of a top load as it will be easier for my wife to use? Can anyone give me any advice on what is the giant difference between the cast Oslo and the steel Rangeley? I do prefer the look of cast iron. And lastly, my options are very limited on where to buy. What is a decent price for the Oslo and or Rangeley? You can PM me if you like with the last question:) I am on a Firefighters budget so I gotta make the best decision I can. Thanks for any help or advice.