Need help choosing stove size!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

country14

Sep 15, 2019
This is my first time buying a wood stove and having a hard time deciding on stove size. I have been looking at the Pacific Energy Super 27 for reference. We have oil heat currently and looking to supplement but not heat entire home. My home is a 1642sq ft rancher. Three main living areas on one side, hallway with bedrooms on the other. We aren't concerned so much with heat getting to the bedrooms as they have their own thermostat and we keep them pretty cool. The three main areas are relatively open to each other, side by side, with 8 ft wide walkthroughs. The hearth is located on the far end room that is a 320 sq ft room. All rooms have ceiling fans. The room with the hearth is our TV room and I am worried about heating us out with too big of a stove. We typically don't like the house extremely warm and I don't have experience on how low you can burn. A friend has a VC defiant in dining room of a 3000 sq ft house, and although some heat travels to nearby rooms, its a sweat lodge in the dining room at all times. Would a smaller version like the PE vista be a better choice for us..or maybe another stove all together. Our goal is creating cozy heat in the front of the house about total 1000 sq ft and still be able to hang out in the room with the stove. I get a different answer from every stove store I visit and hoping for some helpful feedback. Thanks everyone.

Could be ok. Where are you located?