Lots of dust and hazy windows - Wood burning???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

mr2autoxr

Hearth Supporter
Nov 1, 2008
Dexter, MI
This is my first year wood burning and I notice now that we do not run our forced air furnance at all now that the dust in the house is unbelievable. We have to dust the entire house, not just the living room where the stove is about every 5 days or you can just draw pictures in the dust on everything.

I also looked at our windows yesterday and the inside of them have a nice haze to them as they are now very dirty. They weren't hazy before we started burning at the end of Sept.

Does wood burning cause this much dust, even all the way back into the bedrooms? Or is this just because our furnance fan doesn't run and filter the air? What does everyone do, live with it? Or run their furnance fan?

Thanks
Mike

I don't notice it in my house.

Since it is your first year burning I wonder if your wood is wet and you are burning a little smokey. A little bit of smoke coming out every time you open the door could add up... The furnace filter could be the difference in what you are seeing. They get dirty from something!

Matt

I have a little more dust on the end tables in the stove room, but nothing that I could draw in every 5 days. Not sure what's up with that.

I assume you have a CO detector in operation?

Yup, CO2 detectors and never gone off. It is a PE Summit BTW.