Lopi vs Osburn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

LadyHawk

Jan 16, 2019
NorCal
Hi Folks-

I’m a relative newbie who grew up in foggy Northern California in a home heated by an old barrel-style “fire view”. I lived in Washington state rentals with a variety of old no-brand cast iron woodstoves, and now own a home of my own and have the opportunity to replace the old, smoke-belching (re-purposed) insert someone welded feet onto and installed as a freestanding wood-stove).

This current smoke-monster EATS wood and I have the opportunity to replace it with a new, epa certified wood stove.

Which brings me to my question: which stove is best for my space and budget? As a newbie I know that I know enough to ask for advice from those more knowledgeable than I, so here goes:

The home was once a Victorian era community center and then housed two church congregations before being remodeled into a home in the 1970s.
The large rectangular building was partitioned off so that 2/3 of the length is one large great room, and 1/3 is bedrooms, kitchen, and a two story entrance atrium. The walls and roof are insulated, but the floor is not.

The Great Hall has two ceiling fans, apx 4 ft down from the (well insulated) ceiling. It also has five 3x8 foot single pane windows (c.1869)

The two stoves that I’ve narrowed down to are the Lopi Liberty and the Osburn 2300.