Large fireplace opening, need insert recommendation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Kirkintheup

Mar 18, 2018
Bootjack, mi
I’m new to this forum. Recently purchased a large 1930s log home in the UP. There is a large central fireplace with a 55” wide opening and I’m looking for an insert recommendation. I have zero experience with inserts. I enjoy regular fireplace fire viewing so I want to get the largest viewing area but get some of the heating benefits of an insert. I want to have a nice finished look and I’m concerned about the overall width relative to the insert. I would appreciate any feedback to get both the best view and the most heat. I have a propane furnace but would like to run it less often....what units should I consider? What’s the best value considering price of insert, view and heat? Thanks much!

Welcome. Before making any suggestions it would be helpful to know the full dimensions of the fireplace's firebox, top and bottom, front and back including depth. Secondly, is there a combustible mantel? If so clearances need to be taken into account.

How large an area would the insert be heating? Is the fireplace room in an open floor plan? Are there very high ceilings in the fireplace room?

Pictures of the full fireplace and room can be helpful. Are there any good stove shops in your area that you prefer to work with?

Welcome. Before making any suggestions it would be helpful to know the full dimensions of the fireplace's firebox, top and bottom, front and back including depth. Secondly, is there a combustible mantel? If so clearances need to be taken into account.