Jotul f55

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Royalston

Sep 14, 2019
Looking at a used jotul f55 with a blower for $1500 2 years old any advice would be greatly appreciated Thanks

My house is 1800 sq ft built 1940 in Massachusetts Cape style

If you pull the trigger on that buy, make sure to post your result. I've been running an F600 for four years now and am thinking about moving to the F55 next year. I like the look of the F600 better but every other year I have a maintenance regime for it that costs me about $350. I think the welded steel construction of the F55 would eliminate most of my maintenance costs.

If you pull the trigger on that buy, make sure to post your result. I've been running an F600 for four years now and am thinking about moving to the F55 next year. I like the look of the F600 better but every other year I have a maintenance regime for it that costs me about $350. I think the welded steel construction of the F55 would eliminate most of my maintenance costs.

I'm curious as to what you are having to do every other year. I thought the F600 was a very robust woodstove.

To the OP:

Inspect the stove very carefully for signs of over firing and abuse.

You're literally playing with fire and sellers have been known to detail equipment they are selling to make it look better. Better to find the hidden damage now than when the stove is burning at 700F and theres 60lbs of fuel in it.

Why is maintenance for your stove so high?

Reactions: CentralVAWoodHeat