Is this a safe amount of buildup to continue using the stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

KG19

May 15, 2022
SW Wisconsin
I’m in my first year, and burning some wood that is a little over 20% moisture because it’s all I have at this point. I had the chimney cleaned early December and have probably used it for 6 weeks. I checked the pipe today just to see how it looks but I wanted to see if more experienced wood burners can tell me how this looks and if I can safely keep burning for another month or 2. First two photos are the chimney liner and the third is the stovepipe. Thanks in advance!

Is this a safe amount of buildup to continue using the stove?Is this a safe amount of buildup to continue using the stove?Is this a safe amount of buildup to continue using the stove?

Looks like it may be getting gnarly at the top. I would clean it.

Reactions: Tar12
It doesn't hurt to clean it. It might hurt not to clean it.

I’d clean really soon.

I'd run a sooteater up it. It'll take 5 minutes once you take it apart.

Reactions: Tar12
Do you have a way to clean yourself? I'd look into having a way to clean and do it often to get an idea of how long you can go. Better to err on the cleaning too often than having a problem.

Reactions: BillBurns
It needs cleaned...invest in a sooteater...it appears that you can do this yourself...its not hard to do.