Inspection process

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Zamfir

Thanks to this site, and especially to begreen, I am a newbie that is just about ready to order my stove and chimney from lowes. My installation is a pretty straight forward, basement install, straight out and up 23ft.
I am filled with anxiety about calling the inspector. I have a few questions. I know things work differently depending on what state you live in so if anyone has experience with Michigan and specifically, Alger County, I would like to hear about your experiences. My understanding is that I should call them and inform them of my intentions, before I actually buy anything. And I do not understand how the inspection unfolds, will my insurance company use the inspectors report or will they send there own inspector.
Also ,what does switching to wood burning typically do to the insurance bill.I'm afraid that my rates will go up which will eat up the money that I thought I would save from not using my propane furnace, which would defeat the whole purpose of a burner. I was told by a local that I should tell them that it is intended for supplemental heat and NOT intended for primary heat.
Does anyone know if that should be a concern, or if you have any info about this scary part of the process to prepare me.I can't help but feel that an inspectors main purpose is to suck every penny out of me that they can. Thank you, and if there is an old thread I should read on this topic, please let me know.