HS TARM SOLO PLUS 20 yrs old

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Blofeld69

Oct 1, 2013
Budapest, Hungary
Hello

I'm in Europe and I have a chance to get a 20 yr old HS-LOHBERGER TARM SOLO PLUS for 1100 usd

If anyone is familiar with this wood boiler do you think its worth 1100 usd considering the age, and what should I check when I buy it as I am a total noob when it comes to boilers. Cant find the exact model on the web...obviously discontinued before it was bought by american company

Many thanks for the opportunity to ask.

Attachments

• HS TARM SOLO PLUS 20 yrs old
    1.jpg
    56.3 KB · Views: 772
    2.jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 743
    3.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 789
    4.jpg
    41.8 KB · Views: 612
    5.jpg
    29.4 KB · Views: 612
This is what we called the Tarm 2000 series and is very similar to the model being built today...

http://www.woodboilers.com/products/woodboilers/hs-tarm-solo-plus.html

The problem with an older one is that, if used or stored incorrectly, the firebox could develop holes! This happens from the outside in usually, because of acids and condensation associated with wood burning. On the other hand, if cold water was left in it for long periods of time, that could hurt the boiler also.

Good price, but a throw of the dice in some ways. However, there is more chance in Europe of it having been installed and used correctly.

Reactions: Blofeld69