How much do you plan on saving?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rvasupersport

Hearth Supporter
Oct 16, 2008
Richmond VA
This is my first year running the pellet stove and I am a little curious on how much you all plan on saving this year? I did the math and if I were to entirely heat my house with 2 tons of pellets I would have saved 80 bucks. 2 tons of Pennington hardwood oak pellets=540.00

Last year running natural gas baseboard heat from mid october to mid april = 621.00

80 bucks is 80 bucks.

rvasupersport said:
Last year running natural gas baseboard heat from mid october to mid april = 621.00
So your paying the same price for gas this year as you were last year?

rvasupersport said:

That was about what my last oil bill was for one month before I started using the pellet stove! :grrr:

macman said:
rvasupersport said:
So your paying the same price for gas this year as you were last year?

it actually just went up, last year was 1.075/ccf and now its 1.48/ccf. So maybe I will be saving a little more than I thought.

NG at that price is cheaper than pellets at 270.
NG is likely to go lower also as the season progresses.
Still, you can be warmer in one area with space heat, and the fire is neat to watch.

For numbers, plug into
https://www.hearth.com/compare

Given the current lower prices of oil and NG, the amount people plan on saving this year is likely to be in the minus column. That's the way the energy cookie crumbles - sometimes you win, sometimes you lose...but either way you have multiple choices now.

Hi from Wisconsin