Heat shield questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

JB22

Feb 12, 2018
CA
Hi guys

I'm new to the wood stove world and I am building a small home on a piece of property that I have. My question is where can I find information on how to build a brick hearth and surround with the proper venting? I know that I have to have 1 inch top and bottom but I have not been able to find anything that would show that the base that the stove sits on needs to be vented as well. I'm starting to stress about this. Thank you for any help you can give

Unless it’s an old unlisted stove, a big solid masonry hearth isn’t necessary. What are you planning to burn?

Unless it’s an old unlisted stove, a big solid masonry hearth isn’t necessary. What are you planning to burn?
Thank you so much for the response. Its a jotul f500. My cabin is on a raised foundation so the floor is wood. I guess the question is if I put a non combustible material over a drywall surface would that be the only place that needs to have a stand off of 1" from the drywall? Or if I put the stove on a brick surface (hearth) would I have to have air slots that connect to the wall so the whole thing gets airflow?

Thank you so much for the response. Its a jotul f500. My cabin is on a raised foundation so the floor is wood. I guess the question is if I put a non combustible material over a drywall surface would that be the only place that needs to have a stand off of 1" from the drywall? Or if I put the stove on a brick surface (hearth) would I have to have air slots that connect to the wall so the whole thing gets airflow?