Heat Distribution (w/ Map)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Brono

Sep 2, 2018
Rhode Island
Hi All,

Burning an Ideal Steel and it's my first year doing so. Had a rocky start with unseasoned wood, bit the bullet and got some kiln dried and it's burning well now. What I'm trying to figure out now is the best way to move the heat around the house. Being a ranch, I know it is a challenge but I have a question in regards to ceiling fans. Couple points of clarity on the diagram.

FGR - Garage
FOP- Porch
WDK - Deck

The 25' line between the BAS rooms is not a wall, just delineation of the addition.
The Blue lines are walls - and yes, the master is designed like that.
The hall way from the main living area to the bedrooms does not have a transom - it is ceiling height.
Two black dots are ceiling fans
Orange square is stove

I've purchased a couple of hydrometer/thermometer combos and have one in the main area and another in the master. I've been experimenting trying to see what gets the heat down the hallway the best, but results aren't really definitive. Also, I have an EntreAir corner fan at the start of the hallway right now, which I'd love to get rid of eventually.

My question is at night, should I have the ceiling fans off? My thought is all the heat gathers on the ceiling and then is pushed down the hallway by the corner fan - however all the bedrooms do have transoms.

Or is it better to leave the fans running to mix everything up before sending down the hall?