Hard water stains on a Jotul with enamel finish

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

BrowningBAR

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Jul 22, 2008
San Tan Valley, AZ
Any luck removing them? I have no experience with Jotuls or Jotul's enamel finishes.

Try some white vinegar. You probably have some in the fridge. It shouldn't harm the finish, but try a test spot first to make sure.

Have you tried a little vinegar with some very fine steel wool?

Thank you for the replies. I have not tried anything yet. I have my eye on a Firelight with hard water stains where the owner had a kettle placed on it. Trying to figure out is it is permanent or if it will clean up. If it cleans up, I am wondering how well it will clean up.

One stove shop posts to soak the area with vinegar, then sprinkle some baking soda on it. When it stops fizzing, scrub out the stain.

BeGreen said:
One stove shop posts to soak the area with vinegar, then sprinkle some baking soda on it. When it stops fizzing, scrub out the stain.

And the enamel should hold up?

Looks like a pit crew is coming through your home changing stoves like tires!