Getting a new wood stove looking for Hearthstone Shelbourne comparisons

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

Stagolee104

Nov 16, 2018
Hey Everybody, I have a Vermont casting Mirrormack what was installed in our home when we bought it, I've been heating our home with it for the last 6 years but its time to replace it it. its been great heating our home with it but one more season hearing that fan run smooth all day then start jackhammering in the middle of the night me and my wife might go insane lol. I went to a local woodstove dealer and he suggested the Hearthstone Shelbourne. I'm heating 1400 square foot cape with a center located chimney with vaulted ceilings with a large ceiling fan above. We just had an energy audit and our house is sealed up as much is possible, they said any more sealing the house will grow mold. New windows, finished basement with 4" of closed cell foam in the basement walls. Just wanted to give some info if that helps with stove suggestion. Besides the hearthstone Shelbourne what other stove should i be looking at? the stove does need to be rear venting. Thanks for any suggestions in advance!

Getting a new wood stove looking for Hearthstone Shelbourne comparisons

Is the fan all that is wrong with the Merrimack? If so, has a replacement fan been looked into?

For a replacement, the Shelburne sounds right. Also consider the Jotul F45 which can be ordered with short legs for the rear vent to clear the lintel. Another alternative would be a Woodstock stove like the Fireview, Palladian, Keystone, etc.