General Fire Advice for a Newcomer...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

johnblacksox

Dec 5, 2020
Massachusetts
I'm totally new to wood burning. My old conventional fireplace used to smoke terribly, due to a crooked flue, local downdraft off a mountain, chimney on the north outside of the house, etc. So I got a Lopi large woodburning fireplace insert installed this year. I got a cord of seasoned firewood delivered, and I've made about 20 fires so far this season, with good luck, easy starting, no problems at all, no smoking, etc. I love it so far, but I don't really know what I'm doing, so hoping to get some general advice here.

I do not use this insert for heating, it's 99% for ambiance. I love to sit in the living room and watch the fire at night. If it's not completely efficient, I don't care, as long as I'm not doing anything dangerous in terms of overheating or creosote build up. So feel free to critique or give me advice...

I build the fire, and once it is hot, I close the top damper, which from what I understand helps the secondary burn. When the fire gets really hot, I close the bottom damper (air intake) about halfway. I have found that if I close the air intake all the way, the fire burns, but without flames. Again, I like to see open flames in the stove for ambiance. Once it's burning hot, I usually add one log at time, sometimes two, every 30-45 minutes or so.