Furnace came with house, need advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

KentuckyHoosier

Jan 19, 2019
Corydon, IN
I purchased a new house this year and it came with reversible split AC units (heat pumps) and an outside forced air wood furnace. Seemed good enough when I bought the house but I have very little experience with wood heat and none with furnaces. I got the dreaded (I did some reading, people really don’t care for these things) Hot Blast 1400, wood only I believe, and with winter here am trying to keep my split ac units from over working when it’s below 40f. It is in a shed outside and 5 or 6 feet from my house. It is plumbed through 6” fiberglass insulated piping. It is not permanent but it will need to get me a winter or two before I can get it replaced. I replaced the thermodisc and wired it correctly, cleaned the firebox, put in new bricks and replaced some rotten chimney pipe; so far I have a few descent nights of heat with it although it’s usually out before I wake up. I haven’t repaired the bimetal spring type dampener on the door yet but have it propped open enough to make it work. I have a few questions regarding this unit and my use of it. Is this furnace dangerous, if so what can be done to minimize it’s risk? How inefficient is it when compared to a better unit? What can I do (modifications or precautions) to make this furnace safer and increase efficiency? Does anybody have anything good to say about Hot Blast furnaces lol? I have absolutely nothing invested in this thing except to save my ac units from being overworked and keep my family warm until I can get a better replacement.