fresh air kit...good idea or not?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

smokinokie

Hearth Supporter
Dec 19, 2010
OKC Ok
I have a new Jotul F100 wood stove coming.

Was wondering if their optional "fresh air kit" was a good idea.

I just read a pretty big thread discussion on here about how air moves in a house when heated with a wood stove.

I am a total newbie to wood stoves but it seems to me that the optimal situation is for your fire to be fed with air/oxygen from the OUTSIDE of your house if at all possible.

That would totally negate the negative air pressire created by your stove sucking up air from the INSIDE of your house (which in turn pulls in cold outside air through leaky windows and doors), would it not?

I am sure that a lot of you veterans who who have been happily heating your homes with wood stoves for years without a "fresh air kit" might have a built-in prejudice against the idea, but seriously would it not be a BETTER situation for your stove to be drawing outside air?

It just seems commonsense to me that the outside air would be better, simply an extension of the fact that a totally open fireplace is a horrible way of trying to heat your home because it is sucking huge amounts of your inside air up the chimney and creating that negative pressure situation which ends up sucking outside air into your house through leaky windows and doors, etc.

Obviously a well-designed wood stove handles the air intake situation MUCH more efficiently than an open fireplace, but alas it still does feed itself with inside air.