First year with wood insert, not really helping . . . please help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JMBoriss

Feb 10, 2019
Columbus, Indiana
Hello! I've read a lot on these forums but this is my first time actually creating an account and posting.

I have a 28.75" from hearth height (29.5" height from bottom firebricks to top), 41" wide and 27" deep fireplace in a 2600 sq ft open ranch. The hearth extends out 14". Masonry fireplace, outside of house.

This is the first winter using a CFM Corporation CW2500X00 fireplace insert I bought for $75. I tore it apart, repainted everything and put new gaskets in. I paid $1250 for a 6" stainless insulated liner with a new cap, installed. so not a lot of initial investment. Before we were just using an open fireplace and our heating bills would be around $600 plus per month, extremely inefficient.

So far with the insert, it works well only if the outside temps are above 40 degrees. The house's thermostat is on the other side of the house and this insert keeps the house above 65 degrees, but only if the insert is running full open, all the time and I'm constantly feeding wood into it, and again, if the house temp is 40+. I only get about 3 hours burn time as well. I think the insert is too small. I believe it's a 1.5cubic inch firebox. It makes the room it's in cozy, but I'm really looking for something to supplement heat in our house, not just make it cozy.