Fan not working mf5000

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

RobinP

Nov 7, 2021
Missouri
I have a Heatmaster mf5000 installed new 2007. It is one with the control door and panel above the wood loading door (horrible design idea). I have replaced the fan switches, controller and the computer almost yearly (gets too hot) for the past several years. Have replaced the taco pump a couple of times but overall happy with it. I have fired it up this year and have had it running low demand for a couple of weeks. The fan stopped working yesterday. Already swapped out the fan control. Computer working as should (set 190 like I have always). The taco pump is working. I just swapped it as the cartridge blades were broke when I fired it up. Looking for suggestions on steps to go through next. I have not replaced the selonoid. I did replace the fan 4-5 years ago

Is the fan getting power? Or its locked up?
I know on some of the models they have upgraded the fan to be better for its high temp environment (high temp bearings IIRC)
@E Yoder might be of help here...

Is the fan getting power? Or its locked up?
I know on some of the models they have upgraded the fan to be better for its high temp environment (high temp bearings IIRC)
@E Yoder might be of help here...
I believe so as it gets it’s power from the same outlet as the water pump. Looking for my meter to check

If the solenoid lifts then it's a bad fan or a bad rheostat (up front). The solenoid and fan both get power from the same control up front. The outlets for the pump have continuous power, the fan and solenoid get power from the relay in the Ranco control.