Extremely new to this!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mic9kxD

Jan 5, 2020
Illinois
Hey guys I am new here I’m sorry if I posted this in the wrong area. I am extremely new to using a wood burner but my house that I am renting has that as it’s only heat source so I gotta learn anyway I am wanting to clean my chimney and I honestly don’t think my landlord will pay for it and I cannot afford to do it but the previous tenets left the supplies to do so. After watching about 20 tutorials on YouTube it seems fairly simple but I could not seem to find any videos that match my set up. My wall dips out a bit and the pipe connects to that spot so I am curious how I clean that area. The photos are my set up and then directly on the opposite side of the wall any guidance would be appreciated thank you!

Extremely new to this! Extremely new to this! Extremely new to this! Extremely new to this!

It all looks really questionable to me. Your landlord is responsible for provings you with a safe heat source. I really have to question the safety of that setup

Reactions: blacktail
What he said! ^^^^^

Do you have a good supply of seasoned firewood?

It all looks really questionable to me. Your landlord is responsible for provings you with a safe heat source. I really have to question the safety of that setup
I did too. My uncle is a fire fighter. I had him check it out. He’s not concerned but I definitely want it clean.

Based on the pictures, the clearances look too close (those shelves to the left), and the floor pad doesn't look big enough. A person would have to measure to be sure, of course.

Here's the manual: