Do You Think This Pellet Stove Creosote Buildup is Dangerous or Normal?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

DarbyDog

I'm new to pellet stoves. Have had an old Whitfield Quest pellet stove in my basement for over fifteen years--came with purchase of the house. But i only started using it last winter and I don't know the history of how much use it had prior to that.

But anyway, my present concern with it is the creosote buildup in the exterior vent pipes that consist of about seven feet worth of pipe, all of which I have just began to attempt to clean.

I've attached a photo of the removable ash trap at the end of the exhaust pipe and the glazed, flat (maybe 1/16" thick) creosote in it; seems impossible to remove. The worst part is that this same hardened creosote is extensively present in all the vent pipes and seems resistant to any practical method of removal. I've tried a wire brush wheel attached to a power-drill extension rod and even oven cleaner. Nothing phases it except in a very minor way, with a small amount of black dust coming off.

Googling this issue yields a multitude of opinions.

But I'm actually now considering replacing all vent pipe given the potential danger involved.

Think I'm over-reacting or is replacement of all pipes the best option? Opinions?

PelletStoveCresotePoto:061524.png

Last edited:
creosote in a pellet stove is not normal. because of the way
you use your stove that may not even be creosote maybe ash
that has soaked up moisture and hardened. I take it that what
you are showing is the clean-out cap. Just a suggestion take it