Decisions Decisions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

EvergreenKB

Oct 19, 2024
Hi everyone. New member.

My Scenario:
Im in South PA where nighttime temps get around mid-teens to low 20s on average at night through the winter months. I've been using a Harman Mark 2 coal stove for the past 30 years to heat my home. I burn wood from 6 am to 8 pm and coal through the night. The Harman has been fantastic but after many years, it's developed a crack in the top of the firebox so it's time for a replacement.

Background
My house is 1800sqft, two-story and heats fairly well as the staircase is placed center of the house. My current chimney is 6". With burning coal, a single bucket will burn for about 8-10 hours and keep the stove temp around 300-400* until morning. In the morning, I can open the bottom door, get the coals red hot again, and toss a log on and the temp will jump pretty quickly. Even during the winter months, the house barely drops below 70* in the morning hours and is around 80* during the daytime when it's in the 20's-30's outside.

The Dilemma