Creosote

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Welderman85

Feeling the Heat
Nov 1, 2017
Chesaning MI
I'm new to burning and trying to learn. Today my wife was asking me questions about running the insert. Her #1 question was what causes creosote. And I couldn't really give a good answer on all the things that cause it. So what are the things that cause it ? Thank you

Creosote is the accumulation of condensate from wood gases on the flue interior surfaces. Condensation occurs when the flue gases get below about 250º.

Burn wood below 20% properly and you wont have to worry about creosote, also clean your flue every year.