Convection Wood Stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mystereons

Oct 8, 2020
Upstate NY
Hi all, I’m new to wood stoves! I’ve been reading about different types of stoves and I’ve heard that convection stoves are good for hearing multiple rooms. I am not having a lot of luck finding manufacturers that make convection wood stoves. So far I’ve found Morso and Jotul. Are there any other manufacturers? Looking for something affordable. If there’s a particular model you recommend let me know. Thanks!

All stoves radiate and convect heat. It's just that some designs have a bias toward one or the other. This often will show up within the same company. To get a sense of this, look at how the stove is designed. Does it have an outer jacket of steel or cast-iron or is there none? Does it have a lid on the top with an airspace between the stovetop and lid or is the stovetop exposed? For example, the Jotul F500 is a cast-iron stove that is highly radiant. It has no jacket or convection lid. The Jotul F45 orF55 on the other hand are steel stoves with a cast iron jacket that has a gap between the inner and outer layers through which heated air flows. Pacific Energy stoves are more convective because they all have a jacket (steel or cast iron) surrounding the stove body. The Blaze King Princess body and stove top are fully exposed making it more radiant than the convective BK Ashford which has a cast-iron jacket and a convection lid on top.