Chainsaw Issue

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

EPS

Burning Hunk
Jun 5, 2015
NH
A few months ago I posted a thread indicating that I am a novice at wood cutting and everything that comes along with it. I had an issue with my chainsaw earlier this morning and I am curious if there are any ideas on how to correct it so I can get back to work cutting up trees.

I was in the woods behind my house and the chainsaw was working fine. I started in on a sort of knotty spot on a felled tree and the chain came off. As this has happened before I opened up the chainsaw and re-attached the chain. It came loose again almost right away, but I fixed it again and went back to work. The next few cuts were hardly doing anything! I barely was able to cut up a trunk that was just under 8" in diameter. I tried it on a few other trees and the same thing happened. Smoke even started coming out the cut a few times!

Is this an issue with how I reassembled the chain? Does it need to be filed? Admittedly this is a pretty small chainsaw--a little 14" electric one--but it has worked great in the past few months since I've owned it. I keep the bar and chain oil filled as directed and otherwise take good care of it. Please let me know what you think it might be so I can get back out there ASAP.

Did you put the chain on backwards? If you hit something (rock, dirt, etc), the chain will dull almost immediately, requiring sharpening. Inspect the teeth of the chain for damage.

Reactions: D8Chumley and EPS