Blaze King Makeup Air

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Kwehme09

Sep 7, 2011
Northern N.H.
I've been running a Blaze King Sirrocco 20 for the last 4 years. My old Chalet never had much of a makeup air problem as the house was old and loose. Well, after 5 years of tightening up the house, adding bathroom and kitchen exhaust, replacing windows, etc., I think it may finally be time. Wood is our primary heat source. The house has no other air exchange than what has been mentioned.

Does BK still produce a makeup air kit? Will it work with the Sirrocco? Any experience with the kit in terms of where to get it, and how to install it? I can find very little online. Thank you for any insight.

P.S. I wish I took everyone's advice on this forum and got a 30.

Yes you can add a F/A kit to the 20. Your dealer can order one for you. The first step is to determine whether you will exit through the floor or wall. If you have the SC20 with a pedestal, you can consider either option. If you have the leg version, the 3" F/A line will be visible if you run it through the flow. The kit we sell is for a floor install, but plenty of folks here can help you with the conversion to a wall exit.

Just keep the entire F/A line below the bottom of the firebox. ((Don't create a snorkel) These images are a cross section on a Princess, but it's the same basic kit and install.

Attachments

• Blaze King Makeup Air
    freshaircomplete.jpg
    76.6 KB · Views: 475
  • Blaze King Makeup Air
    completerearview.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 792
  • Blaze King Makeup Air
    kitparts.jpg
    85.4 KB · Views: 320