BK Insert - uneven wood burning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

AaronMColeman

Aug 22, 2018
Wyoming
I've been using wood stoves for a while, but I'm new to the cat system and the BK insert in my new house.

When I burn low and slow the wood burns from front middle back, then starts to burn the wood on the outside. Is that normal? Any thoughts? Thanks!

For reference, I've changed the door gasket, the cat combuster, and load the box full with the wood running back to front (instead of side to side), just because I have no idea what the previous owner did to the stove.

My Princess Insert burns front to back no matter how you load it.

In general, wherever the intake air hits the fuel is where the fuel goes away first. Varies with design.

My Princess Insert burns front to back no matter how you load it.

In general, wherever the intake air hits the fuel is where the fuel goes away first. Varies with design.

Got it, I'm new to this sort of stove.

My old one just burned everything really fast...cooked us out most nights :)

My Ashford 30’s burn just the same as yours, on a low burn. Starts at middle front, and blows out the middle over the first 12 hours. If you look at that point, there’s just wood stacked up both side walls. That vaporizes over the following 12 hours.

As the burn rate is increased, the effect is a little less dramatic, but still mostly the same.

I’m loading north/south.