Better looking horizontal vent

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

BoroMonster

Oct 1, 2024
1956JeepCJ5!
Hey everyone!

I am new to pellet stoves and am relatively new to New England.
My wife and I purchased and older 1850's house which unfortunately currently has NO HEAT.
I need to sort something out pretty quick before it gets cold. My plan was to install an Absolute 63 on the bottom floor, but I can't find a place where my wife will accept it.

The best option right now is to place the stove in the corner of the dining room. Because the house is a corner house, the wall where the vent would go is almost right on the sidewalk/street, so the snorkel will be very visible. Is there a better looking option than the dangling robot arm / snorkel?

[Hearth.com] Better looking horizontal vent

Welcome to the forum
No Matter where you put your stove you will need a chimney .
Just my nickel's worth to turn it up and take it beyond the eves
and end about 24 inches above then at least it will look like a chimney
But will cost a lot more. Others will chime in with their suggestions

Reactions: Washed-Up
Take it out and up to between the 2 floors (just make sure there is enough clearance to the windows). I'd use the silver pipe, not black, it will blend with the house. I think the vertical run will keep the "snorkle" from looking out of place. At that height, no one will even notice the cap is there. You can always paint it white with high temp paint next year if your wife doesn't care for the looks of the silver pipe along the siding.