Attaching wood insert to liner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Ruuddawg41

Nov 14, 2020
Washington
I got a Lennox c210 and wanting to make sure I am safely attaching the insert to liner. I am new to wood stove life and wanting to do it right the first time. Thanks
Attaching wood insert to liner

I got a Lennox c210 and wanting to make sure I am safely attaching the insert to liner. I am new to wood stove life and wanting to do it right the first time. Thanks
View attachment 266813
You can't use that black pipe elbow it needs to be stainless

great to know- also the round cast iron flange from top of stove to that black pipe doesn't bolt into place- am I good to hi temp silicone it to stove?
Nope. Not high enough temp and mechanical fasteners are required

I cannot believe how much is involved in these inserts and their install, not to mention how expensive liners and liner insulation is!!
Good job on going with insulation

I actually didn't could only afford liner... does insulation make a huge difference?
So how are you hooking it up?

Yes it does. It is also almost always required by code

So how are you hooking it up?

Yes it does. It is also almost always required by code
I was going to hook it up with the insert boot adapter: then to that positive flue connector ring/kit and use furnace cement to seal. I need to find that ring kit. I got excited by a good deal so I thought on a used insert with surround w/ blower and liner and now I really need to decide if I want to go through with it or maybe just repost to sell on craigslist