Ash and maple

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MoDoug

Minister of Fire
Feb 3, 2018
NE Missouri
I have very little experience with ash and maple. I collected it because it was available and so many people on here talk them up. I thought this was ash because of the bark, then once I split it the center was dark and has a glaze on the cut end. I know maple has the dark middle and the ends get moist from the sap, which will cause a glazing. Does maple bark change as it matures? Is it very easy to get ash and maple mixed up?

Ash and maple Ash and maple

Reactions: JimBear
Ash can be dark in the heartwood. That looks like ash to me. Havent seen maple stringy like that.

Ash gets dark when the tops are dead.

Reactions: MoDoug
That does look like ash, but could be Norway maple. Bark is similar. If you have more pics it would help.

Sounds like the consensus is ash, which is what I originally thought, then started second guessing myself. Today I'm splitting under a metal roof, a light rain was blowing in, then it turned to snow, then my splitter ran out of gas with that piece. A miserable day to be doing this, but I'm heading back out. I think all we have in our neck of the woods is sugar maple, but I'll get a couple more pics.