Am I over-firing my Sirocco 30.2?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

Mustard Tiger

Feb 13, 2024
PNW
Had a BK Sirocco 30.2 installed in April. Fired it up a few times when I was renovating the house in the late spring when the temps dropped into the 30's for a couple days which also allowed me to cure the paint. Since then haven't used the stove until the other night. This is my first time owning a wood stove, let alone a stove with a catalytic combustor.

Here's what I've been doing with cold starts, and what I was told to do by the shop who I purchased the stove from and installed it: Damper open, thermostat set fully open, door closed but not latched/slightly cracked. Let the fire go until you're in the active zone on the CAT thermometer probe, shut the door, close the damper and over time adjust the thermostat to wherever you want it, doing it in small increments.