Am I on the wrong track?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Torqued

Feb 17, 2021
Canada
I'm a complete noob to the stove world here, so please be kind!

I'd like to install a wood burning stove in my basement for ambiance and emergency heating. The problem is that it is a relatively small area and I don't know if a wood burning stove will put off too much heat.

I'm in Western Canada so it can get plenty cold, but I have a gas furnace, so the house is kept warm. A previous owner insulated the basement, but I am left with the 1960 single vent duct in the middle of the room which results in a cool basement.

The room is about 18'-0" x 13'-6", there is an office (8'x10') and a laundry room (12'x10') off of this room (both with doors) and crawl space beyond (split level). The stairs from the basement head up a half level to the front and back doors before heading up another half level to the main floor, and finally another half level to the bedrooms.

I'm looking at a smaller size stove like a Lopi Answer, a Novo 18, or an F100 (which is awaiting EPA 2020 certification).

Thanks in advance for any advise you can give!

Hi and welcome to the greatest firewood forum ever! Have you considered how you are going to run the chimney, I.e. straight up through the middle of the house, or out through a basement wall and up the outside of the house? That might be one of the most expensive things that make up the cost to set up a wood burning appliance... But I would recommend it regardless of cost... it's a fine lifestyle, and you'll get to meet a lot of good people on your journey!