Allen wrench?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Robert Tee

Nov 2, 2015
Providence, RI
New Harmon XXV installed 6 days ago. Enjoying thus far.
I'm still a newbie to pellet stoves, a a bit confused on some things.
A few questions, if I may.

1. Running on Auto/ Room temp mode. Distribution blower rarely shuts off, even when stove is relatively cool.
Is this normal? Also, I'm not sure I understand logic of how to set distribution blower per the manual. Is there a recommended sweet spot setting?
2. Flame size quite variable. Manual suggests flame size of approximately 6 " as rule of thumb. Flame may easily reach top of burn chamber and spread along heat exchanger when stove is called upon to first provide heat, and remain that high for a while. A bit later, will settle down to approx. 6-8 inches, or so. And subsequently, smaller than that. Adjusting feed rate has affected this pattern very little.
3. About to do my first weekly cleaning. Have left the stove off while at work today so ashes will be cool when I get home. Is this what most folks do? Harmon's recommendation to poke Allen wrench through burn pot holes is clear enough, however no Allen wrench was provided to me. What size Allen wrench is correct for this job?

Thanks for your assistance.

Robert

New Harmon XXV installed 6 days ago. Enjoying thus far.
I'm still a newbie to pellet stoves, a a bit confused on some things.
A few questions, if I may.

1. Running on Auto/ Room temp mode. Distribution blower rarely shuts off, even when stove is relatively cool.