Adjustable fan controll Regency 300hi wood insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

rick clifford

Oct 19, 2012
Not electrical at all so please help and use dummy language if you can and what I need to buy. I have a Regency 300 hi or other way around which I have been using for about 6 years. I hate the 2 speed fans. 1 too little 1 way too loud. I know there are alot of people on here with Regencys and am wondering if I can add a reostat or similar to the unit which I can plug in the wall and then plug the insert into that leaving the fan on the insert set on high? I would obviously like to make no modifications if at all possible but want to be safe and not damage the unit. Why wouldnt Regency just do this from the outset.
Also my secondaries arent working well at all. Pipe is 18 feet exterior chim and is clean and my wood is very dry. Some going back to Super Storm Sandy. Covered no rot. Yes thats a secondary question I know. Thanks

After 6 years, you don't need to worry about the warranty, so
why not try your idea out?
What is the moisture content of your "very Dry" wood?