10+ years experience with woodboiler and thermal storage - lessons learned

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

Lance Stronk

Oct 22, 2013
Northfield, CT
Hi. I have a gassification boiler that I have been running for about 10 years now. I figured putting some info out there couldn't hurt.
I installed a Tarm wood/oil boiler in 2013. It was new to me and a learning experience. Nothing an engineer couldn't tackle.
I had a plumber do the copper plumbing of the furnace and the 620 gallon thermal storage. It is a bit more complex than your run of the mill oil boiler, but I had it up an running shortly after the plumbers left. I wired everything up myself - doing all the research to ensure I would have a bulletproof design....electrically.
The furnace operated nicely. Dry wood is the key for smooth operation of the gassification boiler. You can use wood that is 'less' dry (>20%), but you'll be fighting the furnace until everything is up to temp and there is a nice coal bed.
After about a year or so of operation, I noticed that the refractory in the firebox was deteriorating. Basically, air blows into channels at the bottom of the firebox and things get HOT...upwards of 2000F. Over time, that heat, generated by the pyrolized wood and air, burns up the refractory. It's unavoidable.