Burning Pine

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

Roxy

Hearth Supporter
Jan 4, 2009
PA
I'm new to using a firplace insert as a main portion of my heating resource.
I am aware of burning good seasoned (1 year plus minimum) hard wood mix for heat, however I recently was offered fresh cut pine rounds.
My thought is to have them split and season for a year at least.
Would you reccomend burning this soft wood after it seasons? It would be added to a mix of hard woods....never to be burned as a sole specie of pine load within my insert (Hampton HI300).
My concern is the effect of pine as sappy creosote contributor to normal seasoned wood which also contribuites creosote.
I tend to burn at temps between 300 to 450.....basically the safety zone on my tempurature gauge.

Thanks in advance for your kind comments and insights!
Roxy

Creosote is not a byproduct of ONLY sappy/resinous wood. All wood produces particulate matter than can/will condense into creosote if the flue gases cool enough. Think of it this way: when you burn wood, moisture is released along with organic, particulate matter. That passes up into the flue. If the gases are too cool (due to a smoldering fire or too much water vapor from unseasoned wood), the particulate matter will condense inside the flue. This is true of oak, hickory, poplar, ash, pine, fir, ad infinitum. I burn a cord of pine every year for the shoulder season, and it's some of the cleanest burning stuff I put through my stove.