Can I convert this oil stove into an efficient wood stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cynnergy

Feeling the Heat
Oct 15, 2012
Coast, BC
Hello all,

Newbie here so please be gentle. Fingers crossed that the photo works. Please have fun with this question because I know it is a bit off-the-wall!

I am now the proud(?) keeper of this 1950's McClary Charm stove in a cabin on the BC coast. I think they were originally made as wood stoves, but this one was apparently converted at the factory to an oil pot-burner. It heats the kitchen, the hot water (sort of), and cooks. Unfortunately, it also burns about 10L of stove oil a day. At $1.47/L, not cheap or environmentally-friendly.

Is there any way I could convert this into an efficient wood cookstove? I would love to get an Esse Ironheart, but I can't afford it right now and I think it would fall through the floor (800 lbs is heavy!). Some of Esse's other cookstoves (the WN or 990) look like their fireboxes might fit in the space beside the oven where the pot-burner is now. I know those models aren't available in N America, but I might be able to work something out with relatives in the UK. Or are their fireboxes all one big hunk of cast iron that are a part of the stove?

Maybe I could stick a Jotul 602 inside of it?

Happy Friday!

IMG_0768.JPG

Reactions: ScotO
Love the old phone. Is that a crank up deal? Sorry, no help on the oiler.